50,000

My wordcount chart for the month. It's not exactly a smooth climb.

My wordcount chart for the month. It’s not exactly a smooth climb.

November is over. With just under an hour to spare, I generated an amount of Lipsum the same length as the hand-written text in my notebook and validated, turning my bar a lovely shade of purple.

It’s been a monster of a month. I’ve never hand-written a full NaNo before. In fact, I’ve barely hand-written anything since my A level exams. I do a lot of notes, here and there, but nothing full length, nothing where I had committed to doing it old school. It got to the stage where I was preparing to hammer out a fast 1000 words on the computer to get me over the line, but I persevered.

Of course, it’s not good, doesn’t make sense, and is barely legible. It needs serous editing. And I’m happy to be able to return to the real world, do something else with my time than fill page after page with minute handwriting.

But I also want to drag the notebook out and add another scene, explore my character’s home and life some more.

I’ll be back tomorrow. Last time I saw him, he was crying in his mum’s arms. I can’t leave him like that now, can I?

Leave a Reply

