Student Bolognaise

This is hardly a recipe even. My mum put me in charge of cooking, because I’m on this new weight management scheme, and today was my first outing. Monday night is bolognaise night for us, so I insisted on whole wheat pasta and student bolognaise.

Student bolognaise is, surprisingly, the stuff I made when I was a student. It takes one small pack of beef mince (you could use Quorn, or just vegetables) but makes enough to feed eight people. Beef is expensive compared to the rest of the ingredients, which are, basically, anything you can get your hands on.

Dinner tonight included:
Mushrooms
Two grated carrots
Peas and sweetcorn
Two tins of Taco Beans
Two tins of chopped tomatoes
Half an onion
A small pack of beef mince

The annoying part was cooking the mince and draining it. To do that, though, I just did it in a small pan and then transferred it with a slotted spoon. Tossed in all the other ingredients, stirred it whilst I watched Pointless, and then served with whole wheat pasta and cheese to top (I was short a portion of dairy for the day).

Leave a Reply

