Disappointment

After so long championing Eccolo journals as the perfect one for me, it was bound to happen sooner or later. I picked up a new one to use as my job hunt journal, inked up my Buckingham with J Herbin’s cherry-scented red, put pen to paper, and watched the ink go fuzzy.

Clear bleed through from my Waterman and spidering from my Buckingham

Clear bleed through from my Waterman on the left hand page and spidering from my Buckingham on the right.

This is definitely not typical of my Eccolo experience. Last year I used a very similar journal for NaNoWriMo, and got two lines of writing to each printed line, with no feathering or bleed through at all. Maybe it’s because it’s a red ink, or because it’s one of the J Herbin ones. I doubt it, because the turquoise Pelikan has had the same issues, and last year it was too thick a line but stuck like glue to the page.

The one difference between this journal and last year’s is that this year the pages have printing on them. That camera is taking up valuable writing space, and a sign of even worse. I’ve checked my other Eccolo journals, all with lined pages and no decoration, and had no issues with them, so it seems to be just the new batch. Deeply disappointing, and makes it even harder to find them.

Leave a Reply

