Disappointment

Another brand that’s let me down, and this time it’s stationery heaven: Paperchase.

20141225_154944Every stationery fan in the UK must love Paperchase. It’s a magical wonderland of shiny things, with really practical and functional items all in beautiful designs. They have to try really hard to put a foot wrong. Both of my organisers are from them, because their designs are nicer than Filofax, they’re the same sizes, and they’re a lot cheaper. This one is my A5, in the Vintage London design. I also have a notebook in the same design, waiting for the perfect project, and when I found them in the sale I picked up the box of post-it notes in the same design.

They’re so pretty, but they are also utterly useless. Sad, but apparently true. I’ve tried all the different sizes now, and I’ve had the same problem with all of them. The problem is that the sticky notes just aren’t sticky. Or they are, but on the top rather than the bottom. The glue is actually too sticky, so it stays behind on the next note, and there’s nothing there to adhere it to whatever you’re noting. You can see in the left hand photo how the note is curling up, and that’s right after I stuck it down.

Not a happy bunny. I’ll still shop there, but not for sticky notes.

6 thoughts on “Disappointment

  1. What a shame! I don’t think I’ve ever purchased sticky notes from there – I’m only in it for the stickers! X

    • To be honest, I needed to cross off a source of sticky notes. I’ve got them coming out of my ears.
      Speaking of which, you might be interested in the National Pen Company. If you sign up to their mailing list and give them your postal address, they’ll probably send you loads of samples. I’ve got a couple of neat post-it sets from them, just randomly, and loads of pens. Even a little keyring torch and an ice scraper. I need to do a blog about my haul, but you just reminded me of them.

      • Ha ha! I’m with you on that one – I’m supposed to be sorting them out instead of reading blogs! Thank you for that! I will definitely look them up 😀

  2. I ordered the same Union Jack set, and of course waited 3 weeks because I’m over in the US and ordered at Christmas time, only to find they are only for looking not using. I have an idea though and when I sort it out I will share with on my blog. (eyes gleam!)

Leave a Reply

