A Weekend Away

I’m sitting on a bus that will take me from work to a training course the next town over. It’s giving me time to do Stuff, the little bits that I need internet access for but which become secondary to the bulk of my internet time, like playing Sims and wrangling my solicitors. More on that later.

Work had been getting to me lately. Not because I don’t like iit. I love my job and have definitely dropped lucky, considering the job I got isn’t the one they advertised and I applied for. But even the best job can become a chore when you do a lot of it. I did 17 hours of overtime in September, and my weekends when I wasn’t working were filled with busyness, like a morris festival and helping my brother find a job and trying to plan his wedding. Blogging has become very much an afterthought, partly because I have too many first thoughts. Currently my journal is about A7 and I don’t fill it in every day. I need to get better at carving that time out for myself.

This weekend just gone, I found that I had three days off in a row. It only happens very occasionally, but because I will be working this Saturday I get a day off during the week, and it happened to be Monday, so gave me three days. This was enough for me to get away, and I hopped on the hour and a half train journey to Blackpool, where I was joined by my best friend. It was an eye-opening experience. My first rollercoaster ride in years, my first overnight trip to Blackpool, my first trip there in, probably, nearly 20 years. It is everything my Mum recalled. Seedy, past it, covered with a veneer of glamour that doesn’t hide the peeling paint and strip joints.

I loved getting away and spending time with Ash, but that doesn’t mean I have to love the place I went.

Leave a Reply

